Healthy eats with spaghetti squash

I’m always looking for new ways to prepare vegetables. We often get into ruts of, like, salad, glazed carrots, steamed broccoli, stir-fry, etc. A few months ago we tried a spaghetti squash for the first time — I thought it was OK, but my husband didn’t care for it. We tried to prepare it, well, like spaghetti, so I put a tomato sauce on top of it and I think that was what made it turn out kind of weird. This time, I was determined to try something different.

 

I basically used this spaghetti squash recipe from Emeril, but I used some dried herbs instead of fresh. It definitely would have been better with fresh herbs though, don’t get me wrong. We just didn’t have any. However, we usually get fresh basil through our crop share in the summer, so if we end up with a whole bunch of fresh basil I will definitely make this again with fresh herbs.

 

 

Spaghetti squash with herbs

 

Preheat oven to 375.

 

Cut squash in half lengthwise and place, cut side down, in a glass baking dish. Add about 1/2 inch of water into the baking dish, cover with foil, and bake for 45 minutes.

 

Flip squash cut side up and continue baking, covered, for 15 minutes. You’ll know the squash is done when the strands easily pull away from the skin. Discard seeds; add the cooked squash and about 2 tbsp olive oil (original recipe calls for butter, but I prefer to cook with olive oil) to a large skillet.

 

To the squash and olive oil, add about 1/2 tsp salt, fresh ground black pepper to taste, and dried or fresh herbs to taste. I used dried oregano, basil, and a pinch of herbes de provence. Cook over low-medium to medium heat until hot, and stir gently to combine.

 

When we were done, we added some freshly grated Parmesan cheese!

 

IMG_1215

 

Like I said, I would definitely make spaghetti squash this way again. The only thing about this recipe is that it takes forever due to how long the spaghetti squash takes to cook, but other than that it’s super easy and you can basically use whatever you have around. The spaghetti squash has a much more “neutral” flavor than other types of squashes (which isn’t to say it’s flavorless, most spaghetti squash has a slight nutty flavor with a bit of crunch) so it’s a good conduit for whatever type of flavorings you want to use. I also think this would be great with some sauteed kale mixed in, or perhaps spinach, but strangely we didn’t have either! (At the time, now we do, go figure, haha.)

Leave a Reply

