March 2014 Birchbox review

 

March is here and so I have another Birchbox review and round-up post! This month, I received the following 5 items:

 

Jergens BB Body Cream

Stila Lip Glaze in Fig

Harvey Prince Cherie Blossom

Air Repair Rescue Balm

Supergoop City Sunscreen Serum

 

Overall, this was kind of a mixed bag (mixed box?) On the positive side, there was nothing I absolutely hated and all of the samples could easily be used more than once. Hooray! Nothing is worse in these boxes than the tiny, one-time use samples on cheap little cards. HATE. Even the perfume sample could easily be used at least 3 times if not more.

 

On the negative, I have to say I didn’t love anything. There was nothing in this box that I would want to purchase later. Let’s get to the reviews.

 

Jergens BB Body Cream: OK, this was just a weird concept in general. I don’t see the point of wearing tinted body lotion. It was a good lotion in that it’s not heavy, sticky, etc. and it felt moisturizing. But I’m just not that insecure about uneven skin tone on my body. Maybe I should be? Hah. I should also add I’ve tried other Jergens products in the past and much like their gradual self-tanning lotions, this product has quite a strong scent. It’s not unpleasant but it is a strong powdery floral scent that is quite noticeable on skin.

 

Stila Lip Glaze: This is my 3rd shade of Stila lip glaze and each time it seems like no matter what the color looks like in the tube, it’s going to show up mostly clear on my lips. The fig shade looks like a light pinky purple in the tube but pretty much completely disappeared on my lips. I don’t have anything like that so the fact that it didn’t show up on my lips at all was a huge disappointment because I feel like it would have been a cool color. I realize these are supposed to have sheer color but I mean … this was really, really sheer.

 

Harvey Prince Cherie Blossom: I don’t really like getting perfume samples in my Birchbox because it’s so easy to get them free with your Sephora online orders. This fragrance was nice, but I barely  got any blossom scent from it at all. Instead it smelled very strongly of amber and vanilla, to me at least. It seemed more appropriate for the winter. It did last a very long time on my skin and I could still smell it 8-10 hours later.

 

Air Repair Rescue Balm: I really liked this on my hands. It moisturized well without feeling sticky or slimy. But it also said it could be used on lips and I don’t know about that, because the scent is incredibly strong. It has an herbal, slightly citrus-y scent that would be really inappropriate and gross up near your face. It’s fine on your hands but I wouldn’t want to smell it right up by my nose!

 

Supergoop City Sunscreen Serum: This felt very moisturizing, but also rather heavy. I don’t really like heavy moisturizers during the day time. It also smelled strongly of, well, sunscreen! Just like the scent you’d expect to go along with sunscreen. I tend to prefer unscented face products so that wasn’t a great point for me. I do think I will keep this sample around for the summer because I’m always on the lookout for good facial sunscreens that last a long time and don’t make me break out — and this product did seem rather long-lasting which was great. At this point  in the year, however, I will stick to my normal moisturizer which also contains SPF. It just sadly hasn’t been warm or sunny enough to justify wearing SPF 30 sunscreen during the day!

 

These products are available in full size on Birchbox.com, or you could have a chance to sample them with a Birchbox subscription! A subscription is only $10.00 per month, and you can cancel at any time. I’ve found some really great products through Birchbox, such as pretty much all the Beauty Protector hair products, and some great nail polishes from brands like Color Club and Ruffian.

 

Did you get a Birchbox this month? What products did you get? 🙂

Leave a Reply

